Why?

Somebody asked me not long ago why I spend time writing this blog. I am just telling silly little stories about everyday stuff, they say. (Someday I am going to find out who “they” are). Why spend the time writing about common place stuff when there are more important things to do and write about? OK, so now I will answer my critic. Yes, there is only one that I know of. At least I have one.

For one thing, I like the challenge of looking at common place things and writing something mildly humorous about them. It’s up to you whether you think any of this funny or not. I think it is. So there. It’s a challenge to cook up something funny about a bird or a bunch of women working in a bank. There is even a story here about an old car that I own.  My focus is to make the everyday stuff of life a little humorous and, in so doing, lighten your day a little. If it does, feel free to subscribe. If it doesn’t – I don’t know what to tell you.

Secondly, I am a right brain thinker and this lets me have an outlet for that. My day job in the car business does not let me do much of that. I have yet to write a story about the car business and doubt I ever will.  There is much more creativity to find in dealing with a rogue squirrel than in selling a Chevrolet.

Finally, I am hoping to sell a column to a newspaper or two and maybe make a few bucks in the process. I have had two articles published this year. I also am hoping to find a venue to actually tell these stories. I will be telling a few of them at the Mooresville Chamber of Commerce on May 20th. We’ll see how that goes.

OK, so now you know. Now that you do know, well, I’m not sure how much the better you might be. If I make your day a little lighter, then I have done my job. So, next Monday, I will tell you about something very common and hopefully funny. You will also, I hope, forgive me when I stray from my task occasionally for something resembling serious writing. Until then…

All the best,

Scott

Leave a Reply

