Today

I wrote an article for this morning but am not going to use it. Instead, let me share some thoughts that came across at 5:30 this morning.

I am blessed beyond measure. This morning, I woke up with the good fortune to be my wife’s husband for another day. She is at the end of her radiation treatments for cancer and all looks good. She has shown me a level of integrity and strength of character that I did not know she had. We have been married 31 years now and she still amazes me. Cancer has a way of changing one’s life and priorities. I know it has changed us and will do so for the rest of our lives. Karen has fought this cancer with determination and the love of the women of our church. They have stepped up and in to be a support to her. I am deeply grateful for all of them.

At the end of all this, the most I can say is “As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.” He has been our strength and fortress. I am forever amazed that the God of the universe is interested in the affairs of my family. I am also forever shamed that I do not trust Him more.

Enjoy your day as the gift that it is.

2 thoughts on “Today

  1. Your article about your wife’s cancer and your journey together touched me today. You have a very impressive attitude and your faith through it all is so moving. Keep looking up and cling to God as you are. I have travelled that same journey and I now refer to it as the spiritual journey of my life. You are right when you say it changes your life.

    I feel compelled to tell you to love her like you have never loved before. I had 47 years with my wife and I learned to love her in ways I never considered before. Love changes as we age and I am convinced that loving during that journey was a real lesson for two mature people to experience. It bothers me now to witness men who take their wives for granted. I sometimes feel the urge to approach them and tell them to love their wives while they still have the chance. I know you know why I am saying this.

    God bless you, your family and your lovely wife. She is a lucky lady to have you by her side.

    Bob Gerlach

    • Thanks, Bob. Anything good from all this is only because Jesus made it. He gets all the credit and the glory. Iam so sorry to hear
      of your loss. I cannot imagine how it affects you but hope your are clinging to our Savior through it all.

      Regards,
      Scott Emmett

Leave a Reply

