NaNoWriMo (huh?)

I have taken it upon myself to do the National Novel Write in a Month Project. The task before me is to produce a 50,000 word novel during the month of November. It is meant to be in draft form without any regard for anything other than the production of a novel of not less than 50,000 words and having some form of continuity about it.

On top of this project it is also my intent to produce a 1,500 word short fiction story for the The Writer’s Digest 11th Annual Short Short Story Competition. That project is due December 1st. November will be a very busy month.

So, why am I telling you this? During November, I may not have time to write something for this space as often as I have in the past. If I am not here when you think I should be, please do not fear that I have run off and joined the foriegn legion. I am writing. I’ll be back. In case you might be just overwhelmed with curiosity, here’s what is coming down the road:

  • The aforementioned novel is very loosely connected to the years that I lived in Amarillo, Texas. Some of those stories you may have already read here.
  • The 1,500 word piece is also an Amarillo story and is true only in the sense that there is an Amarillo, Texas and I did live there once, and I had a brother. Oh, and there was and is a Soncy Road there.
  • I am working on a first person narrative based on the lives of a man and his son during the Great Depression. I hope to have that ready by March.
  • On this website, I am planning on adding video soon so you can see and hear some of these stories.
  • Speaking of stories, I have yet to tell the story of the first cigarette, the first date, and facing death in the principle’s office.

So…Best regards!

Leave a Reply

