My Mississippi friend

                Well, now, there are people out there that do the dangdest things and I am going to tell you about one of them. There was a feller that I knew when I was in the Army.  He was from Mississippi and was in his mid-twenties. He was a good fella and he worked for me at the bulk fuel yard at Fort Knox, Kentucky. Our job was to haul diesel fuel out to the ranges to refuel the tanks and what all. He was assigned to an old Ford cab-over tank truck that could haul about twelve hundred gallons of diesel. He liked his job and it showed.

                One summer day, I sent him out in his tank truck to haul some diesel fuel out to the ranges. It was a range that was a far peace from our shop so he was gone quite awhile. Now, our shop was at the bottom of a very small hill so we would see his truck at the top of said hill as he came back. Well, we saw him just as he came over the crest  but then he stopped right there in the middle of the road. He climbed out and ran into the woods. He was back in there for awhile and I thought maybe he had to relieve himself and could not wait until he got back to the shop. By and by, though, he came back and drove onto the lot and parked his truck. He got out of the cab and walked toward the office. He kept one hand stuck inside his shirt the whole time though. I thought maybe he was hurt or something and asked him if he was ok. He said he was just fine and his trip was uneventful. I asked him why he had his hand stuck in his shirt. At that, he pulled his hand out of his shirt and revealed that he had caught what appeared to be about a three or four foot long rat snake. It seems he had spotted it just as he got to the top of the hill and stopped his truck to go catch it. I asked him what possessed him to abandon his truck in the middle of the road just so he could catch a snake. “Well, I first thought it was a Copperhead and I wanted to see one up close,” he answered. “So,” I replied. “You stopped your truck because you thought you had spotted a Copperhead but what you wound up with is a rat snake. Why in the world would you ever want to catch a poisonous snake?” He said and I quote. “I wanted to see one up close and personal like.” That, my friends, was his only reason.

                True story.

Leave a Reply

