Work, work, work

(NOTE: The following was previously published in the April 18, 2012 edition of the Franklin Township Informer).

                  How do I get caught in these things?  My wife had just informed me that it was I who would have to clean out the cat’s sandbox on a daily basis, ad infinitum, as her doctor had recently advised her against this practice.This was to be another one of those jobs that foisted on me since we became empty nesters.

It is an interesting thing how this shifting of responsibilities happens when the kids leave home. First, it was dragging the laundry basket downstairs. It was then decided that, since I am the first one up in the morning, I would be the one to feed the cat and empty the dishwasher. It stood to reason, I was further told, that the additional chore of cleaning out our old cat’s sandbox in the morning made perfect sense and even more so since her doctor had advised against her dealing with the cat’s business. In view of the fact that she has been faithfully taking care of me these thirty-three plus years and being as how I am used to her cooking, I agreed to her proposal. The aforementioned morning jobs were added to the already long list of projects and responsibilities that I had to resume when the last of our offspring flew the coop.  It already fallen to me to do all of the yard work and keep both cars clean. I am also supposed to maintain the garage in an orderly manner (a task which I have been able to evade largely because the wife dare not enter the garage). I am sure there are more jobs and projects that are coming my way. I am not asking.

Now that I have all of these extra responsibilities, I am charged to ensure that no more come my way. That is not as easy as it sounds. There are few methods available to the average guy. There is not enough space in this column to develop the subject fully, but I will give you one tip that you will no doubt find useful in your effort.

Hide.

Leave a Reply

