Probation?

I got an email the other day from a woman requesting to meet with me. The tone and style of her invitation revealed her to be a woman of polish and grace. It was surprising and flattering that she had requested an appointment with yours truly of all people. The end of the note revealed that this woman is the chief probation officer for the county.

So far as memory serves, the statutes of limitations has expired on any alleged nefarious activities of by-gone days. That did not preclude any thoughts that perhaps something had been discovered and the proverbial chickens had come home to roost. This county has been home for twenty-one years. It can be stated with the greatest confidence that no involvement can be reported that would require an appearance before the county’s head probation officer. Least wise, so far as memory serves.

The meeting took place in a restaurant. Am early arrival was necessary to have time to plot an escape route should the need arise. Having laid out the appropriate plan (and ensuring a full tank of gas in the escape car), a place in the waiting area was found and occupied while ruminating over the future (or lack thereof).

The officer, who we will call Suzanne (because that’s her name), came in and greeted me with great pleasantry. Relief set in and freedom found until the waitress approached. It was evident that she knew who Suzanne was when she asked if we would be talking about “issues” that may require a degree of privacy. I assured her that I had nothing to be secretive about and that I had never worn an ankle bracelet or even seen the inside of any house of correction anywhere. Furthermore, I had never been on probation at any time in my sixty years. I do not think I inspired much confidence in our host.

The final result was we had a very pleasant hour long conversation that came about as a result of my involvement in a county leadership program.  I am also glad to discover that our county has outstanding people like Suzanne in a position of leadership. Oh, and I am happy to say that I remain a free man.

Leave a Reply

